Traversing Central Asia: Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Iran

September 28 - October 18, 2017
Led by Dr. Peter Clark, OBE

Although today they are three separate nations, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Iran have a long, rich history of political, commercial, and cultural exchange, and to explore that is like stepping back into the Islamic Golden Age and beyond. Fly into Tashkent, Uzbekistan’s capital, a contradicting yet fascinating mix of the many eras of the country’s history. Drive to Samarkand and become hypnotized by the mysticism and vibrancy of the ornate tile-covered buildings and mosques, which evoke visions of the legendary Silk Road. Continue on to Bukhara whose largely undisturbed old town was the cultural and religious center of the 10th century caliphate.  Travel across the border to Turkmenistan and the ancient site of Merv, an oasis city dating back to the 3rd century BC. Traverse the Turkmenistan countryside and cross into Iran and its holiest city of Mashhad, home to the shrine of Imam Reza, Shia Islam’s 8th Imam. Fly to Tehran, Iran’s capital, for its collection of first-rate museums displaying original ancient Persian artifacts. Visit Yazd to explore some of the best-preserved traditional Persian desert architecture before continuing on to Shiraz and the remarkable nearby UNESCO World Heritage Site of Persepolis. . In Isfahan, experience Iran’s best example of city planning whose crown jewel is Imam Square, one of the world’s largest and most magnificent plazas. We end with a stop at the tranquil Fin Gardens, a lush oasis with immense historical significance for the Iranian people. Return home from Tehran.

Trip Price: $7,120 based on double occupancy.

For a single occupancy, please add $1,620.

Trip price includes all domestic flights within Iran, all hotel accommodations in deluxe or best-available hotels based on double-occupancy, meals as listed in the itinerary (B,L,D), all tours, excursions, sightseeing, entrances and porterage.

Itinerary

September 28: Thursday. Depart US.
September 29: Friday. Tashkent. Lotte City Hotel Tashkent Palace.
September 30: Saturday. Tashkent.
October 1: Sunday. Samarkand. Hotel Malika Prime.
October 2: Monday. Samarkand.
October 3: Tuesday. Bukhara. Sasha and Son Hotel.
October 4: Wednesday. Bukhara.
October 5: Thursday. Mary. Hotel Mary.
October 6: Friday. Mary.
October 7: Saturday. Mashhad. Ghasr Talaee International Hotel.
October 8: Sunday. Tehran. Espinas Hotel.
October 9: Monday. Tehran.
October 10: Tuesday. Yazd. Moshir Garden Hotel.
October 11: Wednesday. Yazd.
October 12: Thursday. Shiraz. Zandiyeh Hotel.
October 13: Friday. Shiraz.
October 14: Saturday. Isfahan. Abbasi Hotel.
October 15: Sunday. Isfahan.
October 16: Monday. Isfahan.
October 17: Tuesday. Tehran. Novotel Tehran Imam Khomeni International Airport Hotel.
October 18: Wednesday. Return home from Tehran.

Cancel
I would like to receive information for:

*By submitting this form you agree to our privacy policy.