Sri Lanka: The Island of Serendipity

July 28 – August 14, 2017
Led by Mr. Hemakumar Hitige

After Marco Polo visited Sri Lanka in the 13th century, he proclaimed it to be the “finest island of its size in all the world”. Nowadays, almost eight hundred years later, it has only gotten better, offering visitors an abundance of natural, cultural, and historic treasures. Our program begins in Colombo, Sri Lanka’s commercial capital and largest city, where we begin to uncover the country’s multi-faceted religious heritage, colonial European influences, at times brutal history, and unique artistic tradition. Drive to Dambulla, from where we will explore several ancient cities and perennial temples tucked away in Sri Lanka’s majestic natural landscapes. In Kandy, we will experience the annual Perahera festival, an elaborate parade consisting of lavishly-decorated elephants, beating drums, and striking fire-dancers. Travel to Nuwara Eliya, the heart of Sri Lanka’s tea country, and learn about the industry so vital to the country’s economy. Bear witness to exceptional Sri Lankan wildlife, in all its unimpeded glory, with a visit to the passionately-protected Yala National Park. Our journey ends in Galle, a colonial town thriving within its robust walls, where we examine the legacy of the Dutch colonists, distinctive customs, and its coastal charm. Return home from Colombo.

Trip Price: $5,580 based on double occupancy.

For a single occupancy, please add $1,920.

Trip price includes all hotel accommodations in deluxe or best-available hotels based on double-occupancy, meals as listed in the itinerary (B,L,D), all tours, excursions, sightseeing, entrances and porterage.

Itinerary

July 28: Friday. Depart US.
July 29: Saturday. Colombo. Galle Face Hotel.
July 30: Sunday. Colombo.
July 31: Monday. Colombo.
August 1: Tuesday. Dambulla. Kandalama Hotel.
August 2: Wednesday. Dambulla.
August 3: Thursday. Dambulla.
August 4: Friday. Dambulla.
August 5: Saturday. Kandy. Cinnamon Citadel Kandy.
August 6: Sunday. Kandy.
August 7: Monday. Kandy.
August 8: Tuesday. Nuwara Eliya. Tea Factory Hotel.
August 9: Wednesday. Nuwara Eliya.
August 10: Thursday. Yala. Cinnamon Wild Yala Hotel.
August 11: Friday. Galle. Lighthouse Hotel.
August 12: Saturday. Galle.
August 13: Sunday. Galle.
August 14: Monday. Return home from Colombo.

Cancel
I would like to receive information for:

*By submitting this form you agree to our privacy policy.