Lebanon and Jordan: From Castles to Caravans

October 14 – October 25, 2020
Led by Mr. Tony Khalil

Trip Price: $6,780
Single Room Supplement: $1,565
Internal Airfare: $250

This carefully planned itinerary has been designed to reveal the great natural beauty and rich and varied histories of both Lebanon and Jordan. Accompanied by Mr. Tony Khalil, begin the program in Beirut, a city that has launched a breathtakingly ambitious plan to recapture its pre-war sophistication and vitality. Enjoy excursions to Byblos, reputed to be the world’s oldest continuously inhabited city and home to an epic crusader castle, as well as Baalbeck, perhaps the best-preserved Roman site in the world. The Temple of Bacchus features 60 feet high pillars and exquisite ornamental reliefs. Return to Beirut via the Bekaa Valley.  Fly to Amman, capital of Jordan and the original Philadelphia of 2,000 years ago. Visit the site of Jerash which is nestled in a green and well-watered valley. Drive south stopping at Madaba to admire the famous 6th-century map of Palestine which is in the form of a mosaic. At Petra walk through a narrow siq which suddenly opens out into a hidden valley lined with temples, treasure-houses, and tombs carved from the salmon-pink rock by the Nabateans. Explore Wadi Rum where huge pillars of sandstone rock rise abruptly and majestically from the sandy desert floor before heading to Jordan’s Dead Sea for a final night. Return home from Amman.

Itinerary

October 14: Wednesday. Depart US
October 15: Thursday. Beirut. Sofitel Beirut Le Gabriel
October 16: Friday. Beirut
October 17: Saturday. Beirut
October 18: Sunday. Beirut
October 19: Monday. Beirut
October 20: Tuesday. Amman. InterContinental Amman
October 21: Wednesday. Amman
October 22: Thursday. Petra. Movenpick Resort Petra
October 23: Friday. Petra.
October 24: Saturday. Dead Sea. Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 
October 25: Sunday. Return home