Iraqi Kurdistan: At the Crossroads of Time

October 6 – October 18, 2019
Led by Mr. Balin Zrar

Trip Price: To be advised
Single Room Supplement: To be advised

To visit Iraqi Kurdistan is to discover thousands of years of history, spectacular mountain scenery and to be part of a unique experiment in self-rule. Traveling with Mr. Balin Zrar our journey explores the three northern governates of Erbil, Dohuk and Sulaymaniyah. Fly directly to Erbil, Kurdistan’s capital city and one of the most important cities of the Assyrian Empire. En route to Dohuk stop at the site of the Battle of Gaugamela where Alexander the Great of Macedonia and Darius III of Achaemenid Persia met for the final time. At Khanis discover part of an extensive aqueduct built under the rule of the Assyrian king, Sennacherib. From Dohuk admire the pre-Roman bridge at Zakho and, heading east stop at Amidiyah located high up on a plateau and resembling a fortress. Enjoy magnificent mountain scenery at Rawanduz which sits up on a narrow tongue of rock in the Korek Mountains between the deep canyons of two rivers. In Sulaymaniyah discover its magnificent museum. Throughout the trip briefings with prominent Kurds have been arranged allowing an opportunity to explore both the region’s historical legacy and its likely future. Return home from Erbil.

Itinerary

October 6: Sunday. Depart US.
October 7: Monday. Erbil. Erbil Arjaan by Rotana Hotel.
October 8: Tuesday. Erbil.
October 9: Wednesday. Erbil.
October 10: Thursday. Duhok. Rixos Duhok Hotel.
October 11: Friday. Dhuhok.
October 12: Saturday. Duhok.
October 13: Sunday. Rawanduz. Pank Resort.
October 14: Monday. Rawanduz.
October 15: Tuesday. Sulaimaniyah. Copthorne Hotel Baranan.
October 16: Wednesday. Sulaimaniyah.
October 17: Thursday. Erbil. Erbil Arjaan by Rotana Hotel.
October 18: Friday. Return home from Erbil.