Iran: The Ancient Land of Persia

October 19 – November 4, 2017
Led by Dr. Peter Clark, OBE

Iran, historically known as Persia, has been at the forefront of history for millennia having served as the crossroads for some of the world’s greatest empires, largest trade routes, and most enthralling cultures. Our journey begins in Tehran, Iran’s bustling capital, where we begin to peel back the layers of Iran’s resplendent and monumental history before heading north to Mashhad—Iran’s holiest city and location of the breathtaking tomb of the martyr, Imam Reza. Explore the ancient gateway city of Kerman whose sprawling bazaar reflects the influence of the many cultures that intersected there. In Yazd, wander the maze-like historic center built entirely from mud-brick and gain a deeper understanding of Zoroastrianism, a religion native to Iran and more ancient than Islam. From Shiraz, head to what is considered one of the greatest archaeological sites in the world—Persepolis—an ancient city built to display the power and wealth of the mighty First Persian Empire. Travel to Isfahan where Persian artistry is on full display in the city’s evocative mosques, sanctuary-like gardens, and intricate, hand-crafted creations. Our exploring ends in Kashan, a quintessentially Persian city where beautiful gardens and the smell of roses fill the air. Spend a night in a restored mansion and enjoy a superb farewell dinner surrounded by gurgling fountains and the sounds of birds. Return home from Tehran.

Trip Price: $6,360 based on double occupancy.

For a single occupancy, please add $1,580.

Trip price includes all domestic flights within Iran, all hotel accommodations in deluxe or best-available hotels based on double-occupancy, meals as listed in the itinerary (B,L,D), all tours, excursions, sightseeing, entrances and porterage.

Itinerary

October 19: Thursday. Depart the US.
October 20: Friday. Tehran. Espinas Hotel.
October 21: Saturday. Tehran.
October 22: Sunday. Mashhad. Ghasr Talaee International Hotel.
October 23: Monday. Mashhad.
October 24: Tuesday. Kerman. Pars Hotel.
October 25: Wednesday. Kerman.
October 26: Thursday. Yazd. Moshir Garden Hotel.
October 27: Friday. Yazd.
October 28: Saturday. Shiraz. Zandiyeh Hotel.
October 29: Sunday. Shiraz.
October 30: Monday. Isfahan. Abbasi Hotel.
October 31: Tuesday. Isfahan.
November 1: Wednesday. Isfahan.
November 2: Thursday. Kashan. Manouchehri Hotel.
November 3: Friday. Tehran. Novotel Tehran Imam Khomeni International Airport Hotel.
November 4: Saturday. Return home from Tehran.

Cancel
I would like to receive information for: