Iran:
The Changing Faces of Iran

April 19 – May 5, 2018
Led by Dr. Peter Clark, OBE

Trip Price: $6,360
Single Room Supplement: $1,580

Iran has one of the longest histories of human civilization of any modern day country spanning from the temporal roots of the Persian Empire all the way to its current status as a controversial regional power. We begin in Tehran, Iran’s turbulent yet proud capital city. Head north to the holy Islamic pilgrimage city of Mashhad to see the ornate burial place of the 9th century martyr, Imam Reza. Explore Kerman, a key stop on the ancient Silk Road and birthplace of the Iranian Dervish order. In Yazd, experience perfectly preserved Persian architecture and the ancient Persian religion of Zoroastrianism while navigating its distinctive winding alleyways. Continue on to Persepolis via Shiraz and marvel at the UNESCO-protected ruins of the city that were built to be the most commanding and regal of the ancient world. Drive to Isfahan, a flawless substantiation of Persian culture, where everything from millennia-old mosques shrouded in meticulously painted tiles to its quaint bridges fit seamlessly into this municipal masterpiece. Finally, wind down in Kashan amongst traditional Persian gardens and the city’s well-known bazaar, boasting of artisanship famous since the 11th century’s Seljuk dynasty. Return home from Tehran.

 

Itinerary

April 19: Thursday. Depart the US.
April 20: Friday. Tehran. Espinas Hotel.
April 21: Saturday. Tehran.
April 22: Sunday. Mashhad. Ghasr Talaee International Hotel.
April 23: Monday. Mashhad.
April 24: Tuesday. Kerman. Pars Hotel.
April 25: Wednesday. Kerman.
April 26: Thursday. Yazd. Moshir Garden Hotel.

April 27: Friday. Yazd.
April 28: Saturday. Shiraz. Zandiyeh Hotel.
April 29: Sunday. Shiraz.
April 30: Monday. Isfahan. Abbasi Hotel.
May 1: Tuesday. Isfahan.
May 2: Wednesday. Isfahan.
May 3: Thursday. Tehran. Manouchehri Hotel.
May 4: Friday. Return home from Tehran. Novotel Tehran Imam Khomeni International Airport Hotel.
May 5: Saturday. Return home from Tehran.

Cancel
I would like to receive information for:

*By submitting this form you agree to our privacy policy.