In Search of the Ark: North and South Ethiopia

October 11 – October 29, 2017
Led by Mr. Asu Nidwa

One of two African countries never colonized by a European power, Ethiopia is referred to as the “Cradle of Humanity”. It’s a country of striking natural beauty, unrivaled anthropological and ecological diversity, and a unique blend of political, cultural, and social history over three thousand years in the making. We begin in the complex, heterogeneous capital of Addis Ababa, the diplomatic capital of Africa, then head to Lake Tana, the mystical source of the Blue Nile and where tiny forested islands hide ornate monasteries. In Gondar, explore the former imperial capital’s elaborate fortified castles and enjoy an excursion to Simien Mountains National Park where piercing chasms have ripped through the grassy highlands to form a singular and unparalleled landscape. Fly to Axum, the holiest city in Ethiopia, and learn about the roots of the Ethiopian Orthodox Church through the numerous archeological treasures located there. Discover the raw and powerful holy site of Lalibela, where ancient churches are carved into the ground out of its red volcanic rock. End with a journey through southern Ethiopia where the native tribes of the Lower Omo Valley live as they ever did and never fail to leave a lasting impression on all who pass through this undiscovered corner of the globe. Return home from Addis Ababa.

Trip Price: $6,390 based on double occupancy.

For a single occupancy, please add $1,660.

Trip price includes all domestic flights within Ethiopia, all hotel accommodations in deluxe or best-available hotels based on double-occupancy, meals as listed in the itinerary (B,L,D), all tours, excursions, sightseeing, entrances and porterage.

Itinerary

October 11: Wednesday. Depart.
October 12: Thursday. Addis Ababa. Sheraton Hotel.
October 13: Friday. Addis Ababa.
October 14: Saturday. Lake Tana. Kuriftu Resort and Spa.
October 15: Sunday. Gondar. Goha Hotel.
October 16: Monday. Gondar.
October 17: Tuesday. Axum. Yeha Hotel.
October 18: Wednesday. Axum.
October 19: Thursday. Lalibela. Maribela Hotel.
October 20: Friday. Lalibela.
October 21: Saturday. Awassa. Haile Resort.
October 22: Sunday. Arba Minch. Paradise Lodge.
October 23: Monday. Arba Minch.
October 24: Tuesday. Jinka. Eco-Omo Lodge.
October 25: Wednesday. Turmi. Buska Lodge.
October 26: Thursday. Turmi.
October 27: Friday. Addis Ababa. Sheraton Hotel.
October 28: Saturday. Addis Ababa. Day rooms until 6.00pm.
October 29: Sunday. Return home from Addis Ababa.

Cancel
I would like to receive information for: