Colombia:
From San Agustin To Cartagena

August 19 - September 3, 2018
Led by Mr. Joaquin Emilio Garcia

Trip Price: $5,890
Single Room Supplement: $1,490

No longer a country with a dangerous reputation, Colombia offers a wealth of distinct landscapes, authentic indigenous cultures, and a bold, infectious spirit. Our program begins in Colombia’s bustling Andean capital, Bogotá, where the pre-Columbian, colonial, and contemporary vie for visitor’s attention. From there, visit Villa de Leyva, a quintessential colonial Spanish settlement whose low, white buildings and cobblestone streets will bring you back in time. Fly to San Agustín and learn about the 5,000 year-old indigenous statues that dominate the area. In Popayan, we explore what is widely recognized as the best-preserved colonial town in Colombia that also represents a major religious and educational center. En route to the lush coffee zone of Colombia’s interior, experience a truly authentic indigenous market where the Guambiano people convene once a week to sell produce and hand-crafted products. Travel to Medellín, Colombia’s phoenix from the ashes and a city that successfully used community beautification and engagement to fight poverty and violence. Our journey ends in Cartagena, a fortified colonial port city whose very walls and vibrantly painted buildings seem to have their own energy and radiate a warmth and serenity that stays with visitors long after they’ve left. Return home from Cartagena.

 

Itinerary

August 19: Sunday. Depart. Arrive in Bogota. Sofitel Bogota Victoria Regia Hotel.
August 20: Monday. Bogota.
August 21: Tuesday. Bogota.
August 22: Wednesday. Villa de Leyva. Hospederia Posada San Antonio.
August 23: Thursday. Villa de Leyva.
August 24: Friday. San Agustin. Hotel Monasterio de San Agustin.
August 25: Saturday. San Agustin.
August 26: Sunday. San Agustin.
August 27: Monday. Popayan. Hotel Dann Monasterio.
August 28: Tuesday. Pereira. Hotel Boutique Casa San Carlos.
August 29: Wednesday. Pereira.
August 30: Thursday. Medellin. NH Collection Royal Medellin.
August 31: Friday. Cartagena. Hotel Ananda/Hotel Quadrifolio.
September 1: Saturday. Cartagena.
September 2: Sunday. Cartagena.
September 3: Monday. Return home from Cartagena.

Cancel
I would like to receive information for:

*By submitting this form you agree to our privacy policy.