Armenia, Georgia & Azerbaijan: The Majestic Caucasus

September 2 – September 17, 2020 
Led by Ms. Nina Tchanturia

Trip Price: $5,980
Single Room Supplement: To be advised

Located at the crossroads of Europe, the Middle East and Asia are the countries of Armenia, Georgia, and Azerbaijan, each bursting with exquisite beauty, refined art and heart-warming hospitality. Our journey begins in Armenia, the first nation to adopt Christianity as its state religion in 301 AD. From Yerevan explore the Khor Virap monastery with its stunning views of Mt. Ararat. Spend four wonderful days discovering Tbilisi, Georgia’s capital, where, in inner courtyards, Azeris rubbed shoulders with Armenians and Jews, and Kurds traded with Georgians and Turks. Visit Tbilisi’s museum, which houses a collection of superb gold jewelry from the age of Jason and the Argonauts. Drive to the easternmost part of Georgia – Kakheti – home to the country’s greatest wines. Cross the border into Azerbaijan and the village of Sheki where wooden and stone houses are strung on either side of a steep mountain river, protecting a richly decorated Khan’s palace. Drive to Baku which sits next to the lapis blue Caspian Sea. Its elegant medieval core, with its turreted stone buildings, contrasts starkly with the eclectic mansions built for 19th-century oil barons when Azerbaijan supplied more than half of the world’s oil. Return home from Baku.

Itinerary

September 2: Wednesday. Depart the US.
September 3: Thursday. Yerevan. Armenia Marriott Hotel
September 4: Friday. Yerevan
September 5: Saturday. Yerevan
September 6: Sunday. Yerevan
September 7: Monday. Tblisi. Radisson Iveria Hotel
September 8: Tuesday. Tblisi
September 9: Wednesday. Tblisi
September 10: Thursday. Sighnaghi. Kabadoni Hotel
September 11: Friday. Sighnaghi
September 12: Saturday. Sheki. Sheki Saray Hotel
September 13: Sunday. Sheki
September 14: Monday. Baku. Fairmont Baku
September 15: Tuesday. Baku
September 16: Wednesday. Baku
September 17: Return home from Baku